top of page

V.I.E.W.S (CUBA) Rafael Rodriguez Erra


Rafael Rodriguez lived his whole life in Cuba. I like his story because he is so humble about his views, and about life and his country. I asked him give me the negatives and the positives of living in Cuba. He said I like the liberty i have in Cuba you can go anywhere and no one will bother you. Then I asked him what's the negative of living in Cuba, and he said to me, you know what's the negative part ill tell you, (he said for me, the negative part is the blockage that there is. That I can't go anywhere I want.) I asked him do you feel like the revolution played a big part in Cuba ?. He answers me, I am a revolutionist. He's worked for the police force for 14 years. I asked did they let you go to other countries being that you were a part of the force? He says no, he says its not allowed entering America at the moment. I asked him are there other countries that the Cuban people are allowed to get their visas to go there? He says yes were allowed to go to Venezuela, Mexico. Then I said how is the violence in Cuba he told me there a little of violence but nothing like the things that go on in the world everything is calmer. Then I asked him if we compare Batista ( Batista was the president before Fidel Castro ) but comparing Batista to Fidel do you feel like Fidel was a better leader? He says yes because Fidel helped free the people and the country and gave them free education systems and free medical benefits. Before Cuba didn't have those opportunities. How do they pay you guys? They pay us salary. There're two types of salaries he says There're high salaries and a low salary. Do you think the salaries are good enough for the Cuban people to make a living? There's a lot of salaries that aren't enough for everyday living. They give us enough to make it. I asked him do you think it's possible that one day the world will be able to UNITE? He says I believe its possible and that one day that day will come.( I smiled and gave him a high five that statement made my day!) He says i only make 320 pesos as a salary and its not enough to feed my family. I keep two jobs, so I am able to give to my family. The cost of living here doesn't match the salary it can be expensive, but you have to figure out ways to make extra income. If you have family in America your able to live better because you have some help. Also, Cuban people that have family living in Venezuela are fortunate to gain help from them. If you don't have a connection or wasn't able to leave the country then you have to figure out different ways to create income there, but he says at least in Cuba you have freedom. I told him I like how people are always willing to help each other out, and he says because were humanistic. We barely even have violence. He says i believe all human beings should have the right to do the things they wish. I asked him did you ever feel like a prisoner in your own country, and he said no because no one ever hurt me or treated me wrong here. I live with my family, and we all respect and love each other, that's the best part. Talking to him gave me a humbling perspective to life, because even tho he didn't have everything he wanted or couldn't go where ever he wanted to go he still was happy because he felt safe and loved inside of his country.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page