top of page

A Different Perspective (Hector From Cuba)


Hector was a cab driver in Cuba. He works hard to make enough for his family. I asked him if I can ask him questions about his views on Cuba and on life, and he agreed ......I asked him what are one of the things you like the most about Cuba, he says the tranquility. If their anything that all Cubans wants its tranquility. Also, there're free studies for the youth in Cuba. The medicine is free.That's one of the principle parts that he likes. Cuba has problems like anyone in the world does. You guys might have problems getting medicine for free but, we also have problems with the limited supply of food. Sometimes your a little bit more hungry than usual and you have to sacrifice to make sure your kids are eating as well. He gives me an example by saying Africa the elephants when all the food is done within there surrounding what do they do? They Migrate and that's how the people of Cuba been living because the food supply isn't enough sometimes. I asked him do all Cubans have opportunities or only some do, and he says the only way they don't have opportunities is because they didn't go out there and make them. I have my oppurtinies right now he says, I am on my vacation time and I am doing this cab driving as part-time. So I can keep making more, and I am able to give my kids a better life. I asked is anyone able to leave the country whenever they want. And he says No and sometimes they try to blame us he explains that he went to the united states embassy and applied to enter the united states, and they told him no. They told him, at this moment he doesn't classify for a visa. I asked him so what do you think is a classification to get an American visa? He says I don't know honestly, I don't know because they asked me how many countries have i gone to and I told them about 18. He quotes I've gone to Canada, Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, Dominica, Trinidad, Jamaica, Mexico etc. They told him the thing is, you went to those places because of work and not as a tourist. That's why they didn't give him the visa. The Cuban government told him to go to the embassy and see if America will give him the permission to come here because Cuba approved of it. A lot of people blame our government but a lot of times our government isn't the one at fault. It's the united states that won't give us the visa and if they don't approve it we can't enter. I went to these other countries before because I was a marine. The picture I posted was of him showing the application of when he applied to come to the united states and was denied.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page